James Dixon’s Blog

James Dixon’s thoughts on commercial open source and open source business intelligence

Big Data in New York City

leave a comment »

I’m having an interesting time in NYC this week. I had to retrieve my snowboarding jacket out of the attic for this trip. It’s snowing right now, which is better than the sleet forecast for later. So far I’ve met with a few Big Data customers and prospects and presented at the New York Hadoop User Group. Our hybrid database/Hadoop data lake architecture always gets a good reception and our ability to run our data integration engine within the Hadoop data nodes impresses people.

Being the first Business Intelligence vendor to bring reporting and ETL to the Hadoop space sets us apart from all the other vendors. We have so much recognition in this space that I’ve spoken to a few people in the last month who thought we were ‘THE’ visualization and data transformation provider for Hadoop and didn’t connect to other data sources.

This afternoon I’m meeting with reporters and columnists from a couple of different publications to chat about Big Data / Hadoop stuff. Tonight I’m presenting at the New York Predictive Analytics Meetup to talk about Hadoop from an analysis perspective.

 

 

Written by James

January 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Leave a comment